Dueling Network Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Why it is difficult to take this game seriously

+9
kangtuji
Crosswinds
S.S.A.
OverlordMMM
Phoenix Wright
Miror B.
Dragonknight1991
raidou
demonwing
13 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Why it is difficult to take this game seriously Empty Why it is difficult to take this game seriously

Post  demonwing 2012-02-12, 16:52

Hey. I'm a long-time upper-tier MTG player (in addition to being involved or participating in high-tier DotA, CS:S, SC, WC3, WH40k, and probably any other competitive game you can name). I started playing Yugioh purely on DN after my roommates and I started playing it as a joke. We found the game surprisingly fun and have been playing for several months now (purely on DN). After spending a good deal of time seriously attempting to build competitive decks, one of my friends and I bought $30-40ish decks we made and went to a local tournament, stomping our way to 1st and 2nd nearly undefeated.

It's unfortunate, because I really like Yugioh's play style and dynamic gameplay and find it more enjoyable than M:TG, but there are just too many fatal issues with the game that I am seeing that are driving myself and most-likely most other seriously competitive players away.
This isn't a complaint-for-the-sake-of-complaint thread. I'm actually hoping someone can correct or clarify some of the things I am seeing. Maybe I'm misunderstanding certain things. I think it would be really cool for Yugioh to become a legit competitive game and I have defended it several times, but there are just some things I can't find acceptable as a competitive player.